0:35 to 0:58 - in D&D there's no point in doing this.
Shield-armed footmen may form a shield wall/phalanx/flying wedge formation on a chosen linchpin combatant during the movement phase of the combat round. Any shield-armed warrior in this formation receives a +1 bonus to AC, over and above that normally awarded by his shield (i.e.: +2 for a small shield, +3 for large).
Shield walls may entirely block narrow passes, corridors or gateways until broken and driven back. Assume ~3' of frontage per warrior.
A successful Morale check (see LL p47, or monster description), modified by the Cha Reaction Adjustment of the linchpin character, the allows the shield wall to retain formation and AC bonus when advancing into melee or making a fighting withdrawal.
Breaking the shield wall
Any of the following break a shield wall and negate its bonus until it reforms:
- Sacrificing one's shield to negate a blow (see Shields Shall be Splintered!),
- Killing or rendering hors de combat the linchpin of the shield wall,
- Charging into/withdrawing from melee without a successful Morale check,
- Individually withdrawing from combat,
- Retreating from combat ("Leggit lads!").
These rules are unplaytested at time of writing. Comments, criticism and questions sought and welcomed.
(edit: Please excuse the alternate title that may have appeared in your RSS feed or blog sidebar. This was an error on my part, and an object lesson in the hazards of editing several posts at once.)